141st Annual South Carolina Pharmacy Association Meeting


At the 141st Annual South Carolina Pharmacy Association meeting, held in Hilton Head, SC, the Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy was well represented by 15 faculty, students and alumni.

Dr Kayce Shealy was inducted as 2017-18 President of the Association during the Awards Dinner Saturday evening. Dr Shealy delivered her inaugural speech on Passion. She emphasized her passion for pharmacy and the need for all of us to be passionate about our profession and association to assure continued success in the future of pharmacy.

Dr Tiffaney Threatt was also elected as an Upstate region delegate for the Association.

One of our recent graduates, Dr Emily Huneycutt, ’17, was selected the South Carolina Pharmacy Student of The Year award winner. Emily was selected from over hundreds of eligible pharmacy students statewide. She was recognized for her dedication to the profession of pharmacy through her leadership at PC and being an active junior board member. Emily is on her way to Pennsylvania, to begin her PGY1 residency at Lebanon, PA Hospital.

Additionally, six of the twelve members of this years Junior Board were from PC. the members included, Emily Huneycutt, Chase Board, Megan Slimmer, Adrienne Wright, Jessica Priestia and John David Scheper. All of these participants did an excellent job being a part of the board.

Finally, our PC Self Care Bowl team defeated MUSC, USC and South University for the second consecutive year to win back-to-back championships. The team of Caitlin Sanders, Blake Hawkins, Ashley Chase, Maraya Ramdhani, Jolly Kuriakose and team coaches Dr Eileen Ward and Dr Kayce Shealy brought back the trophy to PC. They did an outstanding job representing our school. We will proudly exhibit the hardware they won for the next year and it will be on to a three peat in 2018.

It truly was a wonderful weekend and Bluehose pride was evident in Hilton Head.