Dr. Nancy Goodbar Installed as President of SCSHP


Dr. Nancy Goodbar Installed as President of SCSHP

On March 15, 2015, the South Carolina Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists (SCSHP) had its annual meeting at which our very own Dr. Nancy Goodbar took the oath to be the next SCSHP President. Having served the year prior as President Elect, she will take on the term as President until 2016. Dr. Davis Amsden is current President Elect and Dr. John Pearson is the current Immediate Past President.

The mission of SCSHP is to advance public health, safety, patient care, and patient outcomes through enhancing the roles of health-system pharmacy professionals by promoting education, communication,
research and legislation. The goal of SCSHP is to support and promote safe and effective pharmacy care for every person in the state of South Carolina. SCSHP is the state affiliate of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

“Previous board and committee chairs have gotten great momentum going in the organization and one of my main goals is to continue that momentum to better serve pharmacists across the state and to work with the SC Pharmacy Association (SCPHA) to continue to advance the profession of pharmacy,” stated Dr. Goodbar.

As President, Dr. Goodbar will oversee the actions of SCSHP by planning meetings, promoting legislative items at the state government level (such as the issue of establishing provider status for pharmacists), enhancing membership benefits, as well as developing and seeking out continuing education opportunities.