Professor wins young pharmacist award

Dr. Kayce Shealy, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, was named the 2012 Distinguished Young Pharmacist by the South Carolina Pharmacy Association (SCPhA).

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award is presented to a pharmacist who has demonstrated passion for providing pharmacy care for their patients and their community, and commitment to the profession through participation in SCPhA, state and national organizations. The award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual.

“Kayce is a stellar example of the next generation of pharmacists in the profession,” said Terry Blackmon, RPh, South Carolina Pharmacy Association 2011-2012 president. “To be so involved at this stage in her career is remarkable.”

Shealy has been extremely active in the profession and has served in various leadership positions, including serving for two years in the SCPhA House of Delegates. She currently chairs the New Practitioner Special Interest Group (SIG) at SCPhA and is an active member of the Continuing Education planning committee. She serves as the advisor for Presbyterian College’s chapter of the Academy of Student Pharmacists and sits on several national committees.

Shealy has been a champion for the profession, encouraging students to not only become members of the profession, but to take active roles. She has facilitated student groups attending professional association meetings.