PharmaCy ScriPts

July - Sept 2015

pharmacy.presby.edu | 864.938.3900



Care for the Community is not just something we say, it is the reason for everything we do.

Welcome the Class of 2019

Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy welcomes the sixth class with their White Coat Ceremony August 22, 2015, at the Belk Auditorium.

On August 22, 2015, the 85 students that make up the class of 2019 were welcomed into the program and received the first white coats they will wear during their laboratory and experiential education as pharmacy students.

The ceremony started with an invocation from Dr. Tiffaney Threatt followed by a welcome from President Robert Staton, Provost Donald Raber, and Dean Cliff Fuhrman. Mr. Viren Patel, Pharmacist in Charge at Rite Aid in Spartanburg, provided the ceremony address. Dr. Laura Fox then lead the students through the recitation of the Honor Code pledge and the Pledge of Professionalism. Dr. Julie Sease called out each name as Dr. Fox and Dr. Fuhrman helped each student don their white coat. Dr. Fuhrman closed the ceremony with best wishes and warmest welcome for the coming year. Mr. Steve Green and CVS Caremark sponsored the white coats for the students this year.



Mr. Viren Patel, PharmD Pharmacist in Charge Rite Aid Pharmacy - Spartanburg

Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy Honor Code Pledge

On my honor, I will abstain from all deceit. I will neither give nor receive unacknowledged aid in my academic work, nor will I permit such action by any member of this community. I will respect the persons and property of the community and will not condone discourteous or dishonest treatment of these by my peers. In my every act, I will seek to maintain a high standard of honesty and truthfulness for myself and for the college.

PharmaCy ScriPts €



News





community to start the year off right.











News





Presbyterian College Receives SC-INBRE Grant

INBRE stands for Idea Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence.

The goal of the SC-INBRE is to increase the National Institutes of Health (NIH) research capacity of the state by programmatic expansion and networking of research activities of faculty and students at academic institutions throughout the state. The goal of this award is to stimulate biomedical research on PC's campus. The award is a five year grant with total direct costs of \$549,000 and officially started on July 10th, 2015 and will last until June 30th, 2020.

There are a lot of people to thank for their hard work in obtaining this grant. The first is Dr. Lucia Pirisi-Creek. Dr. Pirisi-Creek is a faculty member at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine and has been extremely supportive of PC and research endeavors throughout our state. She is the primary investigator for the state program. Also, Dr. Sarah Sweitzer who initiated this process here at PC. Although she is no longer at PC, it would be a travesty not to give proper credit to Sarah and her many contributions to this grant. Also, Drs. Romero-Sandoval, Wetzel, Askew and Gearhart contributed many hours to the development of this grant. The current investigators on this grant are Asbill, Romero-Sandoval and Wetzel. This is a huge grant for our institution and a great way to continue to stimulate research on our campus.

R

Accomplishments

• Congratulations to Dr Jack Fincham, who has been selected again this year to serve as Chair for the "Training Grant for Drug Safety and Effectiveness Network (DSEN) Targeted Research" competition from the Canadian Institute of Health Research. This funding opportunity is intended to improve the mentoring and training environment for postmarketed drug safety and effectiveness health researchers in Canada, foster collaborative team research across disciplines and integrate training on the ethical conduct of research and related ethical issues, knowledge translation and professional skills such as communication, teamwork, project management and leadership.



Scholarship

- Tiffaney Threatt, Sarah Wagner, Eileen Ward. Poster accepted and presented at the 2015 AACP Annual Meeting, Washington DC. (Title: MTM hybrid course improves student self-efficacy in performing medication therapy management services)

- Jennifer Clements, Kayce Shealy. Manuscript published in Annals of Pharmacotherapy. (Title: Liraglutide: An Injectable Option for the Management of Obesity)

- Whitney Maxwell, Kate Moore, Sarah Ford White, Sarah Shrader, and Kevin Lu. Manuscript published in Journal of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics. (Title: Survey of Pharmacists' Subtherapeutic INR Management and Anticoagulation Bridging Practices: A Preliminary Assessment)

- Jennifer Clements, Kayce Shealy. Journal CE published in Palmetto Pharmacist. (Title: Management of Uncomplicated GERD in Pediatric Patients)

- Nancy Goodbar, Kayla Lewis (Class of 2015). Manuscript published in American Journal of Health-System Pharmacist 2015(72):921-22. (Title: Finding and working with mentors)

- Kris Virga, Eddie Grace. Manuscript published in Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy. (Title: Naegleria fowleri: A Review of the Pathogenesis, Diagnosis, and Treatment Options)

PharmaCy ScriPts



2nd Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament

Kick-Off Event spotlighted William and Lou Kennedy of Nephron Pharmaceuticals

October 12, 2015, the PC School of Pharmacy held the 2nd Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament at the Links at Stoney Point on Lake Greenwood. It was a wonderful day as we had over 50 people participating. With the support of sponsors and the individual players we raised over \$10,000 toward the student scholarship fund.

















<u>First Place Team:</u> Brian Taylor, Tyler Daniel, Tim Cash, and Jim Mitchell



Second Place Team: LLoyd Sifford, Wes Daniels, Jordan Hicks, and Stevie Davis



Third Place Team: Taylor Cook, Chandler Ramage, Matt Cain, and Will Churm



Last Place Team: Gene Reeder, Jack Ficham, Grady Jones, and Gary Neal

<u>Closest To Pin:</u> Cason Mabry **Longest Drive:** Will Churn

News